Table of Contents

How to Double-Check Your iPhone’s Privacy Settings
For iOS / How To / Tips & Tricks /

How to Double-Check Your iPhone’s Privacy Settings

Two Steps to Manage Privacy Controls

Since the “Privacy & Security” aspect has been shattered with continuous breaches, it seriously doesn’t matter what mobile operating system you are using. Be it iOS or Android OS, they all have rolled up their sleeves to provide better security layer. We all are familiar with the auto permission pop-ups asked by the new apps while installing on the phone. These first-time-installed-apps ask to access the different parts of the phone that store our confidential as well as general information.

general information

Normally, we tap on “Allow/OK” for everything without even looking or reading. However, there are a few users who are a bit hesitant while providing access. And that’s perfectly normal.

Not giving access to an app you don’t have trust upon, is perfectly fine. And don’t think that whatever permission you gave once, cannot be amended. It can be and that’s what this article is all about.

So let’s take a look to amend the iPhone privacy settings as well as double-check the permissions.

iPhone Privacy Setting With Double-Check Permission:

1. Default Privacy Section

We all know about the default privacy feature on the smartphones that let us customize the security layers. A platform that has all the apps with the permissions provided from your end. Obviously, you can use the feature and amend the already saved permissions for the apps you want to.

With the iPhone, it’s been categorized in a very simple and user-friendly manner. The apps ask for accessing different parts such as the location, contacts, photos, messages, calendar, etc. The privacy feature segregates the installed apps in the above categories and what you need to do is, visit the accessed part, tap on the app and make necessary changes.

Those of you, who haven’t used this feature ever, I bet you will say “My god!! I have these many apps on my iPhone”. And the truth is yeah, you do.

 

Settings Method iOS permissions

 

So, visit the categories, tap on the apps, go through them thoroughly and then give the appropriate permission to access the info platforms.

P.S. – If you see on the top, Location Services is “On”, tap on it and check if all the enabled options are appropriate.

2. Double-Check Specific apps for Permissions

Since Apple users believe the iPhone doesn’t slow down much, they keep installing apple apps on their iPhones. And know that, going through each and every app to amend the permission aspect is a quite time-consuming act. Though we all appreciate the one-stop platform for installed apps, there is a high probability to miss any app while going through the list.

What you can do here is visit the specific app you want to make changes to and perform the action. All you need to do is, visit Settings, scroll down to check for the specific app and make the necessary changes.

For example, If you are using the Messenger app and wants to make changes to the location services, follow below path:

Settings > Messenger> Location Service> Select the suitable options.

 

Double-Check Permission iPhone

 

Use the above path and go through the specific apps to make the changes for permissions. It’s as simple as that.

Wrapping Up

Please know that every good thing should be an act, not a habit. Like some of us keep our watches a few minutes ahead and with time, it becomes an act. Just like that, check the permissions for the apps on a regular basis so that your iPhone’s privacy settings are customized according to your needs.

You can also visit the Apple Support page to know what iOS13 is offering when it comes to accessing location by apps.

Editor’s Recommendations:

How to Secure Your iPhone & iPad (iOS 12)
How To Stop Sharing Internet History On Your iPhone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *