How to Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently

Delete-Facebook-Account

It often happens that we do silly mistakes on Facebook and wish if it could be undone. And when it’s not undone, we finally decide to delete Facebook account however we are unaware of how to delete Facebook account permanently. Facebook generally doesn’t let its users go so easily. It temporarily deactivates Facebook and keeps the traces alive if in case you change your mind.

Here in this article, we’re going to walk you through the process of how to delete your Facebook account and have also outlined the difference between ‘Deactivate FB’ and ‘Delete FB’ process.

Here is the solution on how to delete your Facebook account for whatever sort of reason. Deleting Facebook account or deactivating your Facebook account is quite easy with these simple steps.

Delete FB Vs Deactivate FB

Let’s first understand the difference between Deleting a Facebook Account and Deactivating a Facebook Account.

Deactivating Facebook Account Means

  • It’s not permanently deleted and still secured
  • You can reactivate your account whenever you wish to
  • People won’t be able to see your Facebook Timeline or search for you
  • Information like messages with timelines may remain visible to the recipient
  • Facebook keeps your account information saved (like account details, friends and interests) in case you reactivate

Deleting Facebook Account Means

  • Facebook delays the deletion process for a few days after the request is been made. If you log in back during the grace period, the deletion request gets canceled.
  • Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.
  • You can’t regain access to your Facebook account once you permanently delete your Facebook account.
  • It may take up to 90 days for your data to be deleted that’s stored in Facebook backup systems. However, none of your information is accessible on Facebook during this time.
  • You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  • A few things aren’t deleted from your account, like messages that you’ve sent to friends – these will remain active forever.
  • According to the company, copies of log records and other items may remain in Facebook’s database but are disassociated from your personal identifiers.

How To Deactivate Facebook Account

reactivate facebook account

If you want to deactivate your Facebook account on a temporary basis, you can follow these four steps:

facebook settings menu

Step 1. Login to your Facebook account and click the account menu down arrow at the top-right corner of the Facebook page in your web browser.

Step 2. Go to the ‘Settings’ option and choose ‘General’ in the left-hand side column.

Step 3. Click on the ‘Manage your account’ option.

Step 4. Press ‘Deactivate your account’ and follow the onscreen options to confirm your decision.

“Tip: If you want to reactivate your account after deactivating, simply log into your Facebook account with your e-mail and password, and your profile will be reactivated and restored.”

How To Delete Facebook Account

Facebook account settings

We are sure that after reconsidering your measured decision, you are finally ready to delete your Facebook account permanently. After your account has been deleted permanently, you won’t be able to retrieve anything from Facebook.

Permanently Delete Your Account

To permanently delete your Facebook account, you need to follow these steps.

Before you Delete! Create a backup!

download facebook information

Step 1. Log in to your Facebook account and go to settings option from the drop-down menu.

Step 2. In Settings, click the ‘Download a copy of your Facebook data’ option in the ‘General Account Settings’ area and you shall receive an Email with an archive Email.

That’s it! You are good to go to delete your Facebook account permanently!

Step 1. Login to your Facebook account and click the account menu down arrow at the top-right corner of the Facebook page in your web browser.

Step 2. Go to the ‘Settings’ option and choose ‘General’ in the left-hand side column to access your Facebook information in the left-hand side column.

Step 3. Click the ‘Deactivation and Deletion’ option.

Step 4. Select ‘Delete Account’, then click on ‘Continue to Account Deletion’.

Step 5. It will ask you to enter your password. Enter your password and click on ‘Continue’ and then click ‘Delete Account’.

“Tip: You can also reach delete account page with this link: Delete Your Facebook Account

Want to Cancel Account Deletion?

If you realize that you have made a mistake by deleting your Facebook account permanently, well, it’s never too late if you get it at the right time.

If it’s just been less than 30 days since you have initiated the deletion process, you can still cancel your account deletion. After 30 days of initiating the Facebook account deletion process, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to retrieve any of your information.

Facebook takes up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete everything you’ve posted. While Facebook is deleting your information, it’s not accessible to anyone using Facebook.

To Cancel Your Account Deletion:

Simply log in to your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account and click on ‘Cancel Deletion’.

Summing Up

Social fever is harmful at times and it’s good to realize the same at the right time. Staying connected is also necessary so you need to ensure that you use social networking sites like Facebook wisely. Here in this article, we have covered how to delete your Facebook account, how to deactivate Facebook account or how to reactivate your temporary or permanently deleted Facebook account.

Have you deleted your Facebook account? What made you do so? Was it a personal reason or Facebook’s lack of care when it comes to using your private information? Do let us know in the comments!

If you faced any trouble, do write to us in the comments below and we’ll get back to you with a fix.

If this article turned out to be helpful to you, please like and share this with your colleagues. For more such tips, tricks and tech-related updates visit Tweak Library and if you are more into tech-related videos do watch and subscribe to our YouTube channel. You can also reach us on Facebook and Pinterest.

Raj Soni

Raj is a creative technical content blogger. He is an experienced analyst coming from Information Technology world proficient in analyzing information and defining a flawless resolution. His technical knowledge and expertise to research, blended with an intimate passion to write made him love his profession to the core. New rides, extreme sports and relishing cooking is his passion. He also dreams of writing a book truly dedicated to an Indian mother.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *