Systweak Tweak Library
Tweaks are tricks & hacks for optimizing your system and helps in enhancing & securing your Operating System
 
 
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Display > Desktop > Disable auto-run of desktop cleanup wizard
isplay
Disable auto-run of desktop cleanup wizard.

Windows provides you a facility to remove unused items and shortcuts from your desktop, which are not accessed from a long time.

Tweak for : Windows XP
After a period of 60 days Windows checks if there any files on your desktop that haven't been used for a long time. It's a help from Windows to remove these files. The removed files are stored in a separate folder on desktop.

This setting can disable the option to run desktop cleanup. However, this setting will not stop you from cleaning the desktop manually.

For this, go to Start > Run menu, enter “regedit” and navigate to the registry path listed below. You can create a DWORD value “NoRun”, if this value does not exist.

Now, right-click and modify the value to “1” which can disable the cleanup wizard on your desktop. However, if you want to enable the wizard back, change the value to “0”.

The changes take effect after a restart or logoff.

Prevent autorun desktop cleanup wizard.reg

The '.reg' file can disable autorun of desktop cleanup wizard.

Allow autorun desktop cleanup wizard (Default).reg

The '.reg' file can enable autorun of desktop cleanup wizard.

Apply registry settings according below given steps of screenshots with related changes.

‘Cleanup Desktop Wizard’ is disabled under the ‘General Tab’ of Diplay Properties called on right-clicking the desktop.

‘Cleanup Desktop Wizard’ is enabled under the ‘General Tab’ of Diplay Properties by default, called on right-clicking the Desktop.

First, click the 'Start' button, and select 'Run'. In the resulting dialog box, type "regedit".

Go to [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Desktop\CleanupWiz\] , right-click in the open area to create a DWORD Value with the name "NoRun" in "CleanupWiz" key.

Next, right-click on "NoRun" and click on 'Modify'.

Finally, enter the value User "1" in the text box and click on 'OK'.

Showing Windows Version on the Desktop (For Windows 98/Me).

Category : Display > Desktop

Enabling this option will show the Version information of Windows on the desktop and disabling the option will hide this information from desktop.

Do not save changed icon position on desktop (For All Users)

Category : Display > Desktop

Users can change the positions of icons and place them anywhere on the desktop. Windows saves such settings even when the user logs off or restarts the system. This setting can let you disable such feature.

Remove “Active Desktop” item from Settings in the Start menu (For Current User in Win 98/Me).

Category : Display > Desktop

This setting enables you to remove the menu item “Active Desktop” from Settings in the Start menu.

Remove “Active Desktop” item from Settings in the Start menu (For All Users in Win 98/Me).

Category : Display > Desktop

This setting enables you to remove the menu item “Active Desktop” from Settings in the Start menu.

Prevent changes to “Active Desktop” settings.

Category : Display > Desktop

This setting removes the options from Desktop, where you can make changes to the “Active Desktop” settings.

 
 
Remove spyware infections automatically / manually | Check for file authenticity
 
Systweak Inc.
© Systweak Inc., 1999-2017 All rights reserved.
Microsoft Gold Certified Partner